Proform Le Tour de France Indoor Bike Consumer Review

by Brad
(Orange Park, FL)

I guess I must have received a lemon. The 5th day upon receiving the Proform Le Tour de France Indoor Bike the incline feature quit working and the bike defaulted to a max incline position. I spoke with Customer Service and they thought it was just a loose connection or bad wire harness...so they sent me replacement harnesses. After these did not resolve the issue, they sent another console. Still nothing. To make a long story short, it turned out to be the circuit board.

Well, 5 minutes into an "exercise bike" workout (previously I had been using the Map Your Ride feature) ALL manual controls have quit. As I type, the bike is reading an 85 rpm cadence and the time is clicking away. Like I stated earlier, maybe I just received a lemon. But from my perspective, Proform should have conducted more testing before putting this bike out to the market and too bad to me for being sucked into buying the Proform Le Tour de France bike and getting something that was so new there weren't any customer reviews yet.

Comments for Proform Le Tour de France Indoor Bike Consumer Review

Click here to add your own comments

Good Idea - Needs Work
by: Mike Fieseler

The advertising of this cycle is excellent as is the design concept. The implementation is underwhelming.

I have had the cycle for a month and a half. It has had the console and a circuit board replaced - the repair person that came out did not have fond things to say about the quality of the machine in general, except that if more of them were sold, he would continue to have job security.

The iFit software has been a problem. They have done an upgrade during my ownership that did made it much better than it was, but far from as advertised. The web site is very slow, it's not easy to navigate, somewhat featureless (compared to other sites I use for fitness), and filled with bugs. Gearing for your comparible outdoor rides is far from realistic, but is better than most indoor riding. Nice to have gear shifting at your fingertips.

The 20% tilt is another great in concept feature, but is more of a hinderence to riding than it is worth (probably will also contribute to more future mechanical problems). Not having forward/backward adjustible handlebars (I believe fixed since I purchased my unit) makes the cycle unrideable going up hill while standing - my knees hit the bars. I ride a lot of hills and never have that problem on a real cycle.

Nice to have the coasting and free-spinning available which does differentiate this unit from other in-door cycles.

The support staff that I seem to talk to every other day is friendly and tries to help, but unfortunately has their hands tied waiting for response from the developers. I currently have 4 problems registered on line that have been waiting nearly a week to be assigned to someone. One of the problems is that the workouts abort midway through a session requiring you to dismount and restart the session on your PC - guess that's no different than coming up to a stop sign or red light.

This is an expensive machine to own $1300 - $1500 up front and $200/year (half for the maintenance plan you better buy and half for the annual iFit membership). The cycle is basically worthless without the iFit membership.

My recommendation would be to wait a year or two for the bugs to be worked out before purchasing. In the meantime, get a good indoor trainer for your outdoor bike.

Non-responsive Console
by: Anonymous

Set up the bike, installed the firmware update, and now the console is non-responsive!

Gen 2
by: Katelyn

I have the Gen 2 for about 1 month and it's been a great investment, worked great since day one! I'd definitely recommend it, training on it is awesome.

Same Problem as Bob
by: Anonymous

I received the Generation 2 TDF bike in February 2012, manufactured in January 2012, and after the second workout, the console quit working leaving me a dead bike. The customer service rep told me they would send out a new console, but now I received an email stating the part is out of stock. I have a brand new $1500 stationary bike in my basement that is only good as a boat anchor. This bike is not ready for the market yet. Don't make this mistake.

ProForm Le Tour de France Generation 2 Bike
by: Anonymous

Guys,
I am looking to buy the Proform TDF Gen 2 bike, but it is disappointing to see a lot of extremely bad reviews about the bike on different sites, not sure if those are Gen 1 problem. They released a Gen 2 version, not sure if that has improved on the quality and performance of the bike. Also, I heard Proform Customer service is the WORST it can be in the industry, on a scale of (best) 1 - 10 (worst), proform will easily claim the 10th spot on service.

Not sure if all of these quality issues are true for Gen 2 bike, need more customer experiences on the Gen 2 bikes.

Yellow is a Lemon
by: Allen

This bike is a lemon! I only waited 2 months for delivery then 2 days later the front handle bar shifter quit. The network is slow when turning on the center screen; it only goes to the iFit screen and will not go anywhere now. I have parts ordered for a month for the shifter but now the quality of the whole machine shows up. This bike is a piece of junk.

Same Experience
by: Bob in Boston

After setting it up, I tried a 20 min. downloaded workout, which went fine. Then I downloaded a route I had mapped, and less than 5 min. into it the bike went into a "downward dog" position, from which it has not recovered, just like the previous reviewer. A new console did nothing. After a second round with their service line they sent a replacement motor, which a local warranty service rep was to install. But what they sent was for the magnet, not the elevation. The service rep was able to get the elevation motor working, but the console would not control it. Even the magnet motor is not being controlled, because the resistance is constant in manual mode. The service guy ordered another console and elevation motor, but ICON (the ProForm company) says they are out of stock. This has been going on for 2 months now. There is something wrong with this design. I'm very close to sending the thing back for a refund.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Exercise Bike Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Comparison Charts

Upright Bikes
Recumbent Bikes


Buying Guide

Find the right bike at the best price!


Workouts

How to make the time spent exercising fun!


Submit Review

Rave or rant about the exercise bike you purchased online or used at the gym.